The only twelve-county Province in Ireland is nestled on the eastern seaboard. Derived from the old Irish word Laigin, Leinster houses Ireland’s most densely populated county and indeed its capital city, Dublin. The population of Leinster now stands at over 1.8 million.

Historically, County Meath, now part of Leinster, is the ancient seat of the high kings with its infamous capital of Tara and the early Celtic site of Newgrange.

Encompassing the counties of Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow, the Province of Leinster’s landscape is as diverse as its counties, from expansive farmland in the north to the dramatic Wicklow Mountains to the south.

Leave a Comment