The province of Connaught (Connacht) lies in the West of Ireland with its coastline on the Atlantic Ocean. The counties of Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim, Galway, and Roscommon are within its boundary. Connaught is the least inhabited province in Ireland with a population of just over 400,000.

Historically, Connaught has retained its rich Gaelic heritage and today still has communities where the Irish language is spoken. These regions are collectively called the Gaeltacht. The remote Aran Islands off the mainland of County Galway are part of the Gaeltacht.

The primary business center of Connaught, and the most densely populated area, is the thriving city of Galway to the south of the province.

Connaught has some of the most beautiful and unspoiled countryside to be found in Ireland, including the spectacular mountainous landscape of Connemara.

Leave a Comment