The Counties





Ulster is the northerly province of the island of Ireland. Encompassing the counties of Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry, Antrim, Down and Armagh, Ulster was originally known by the Celtic name of Ulaid (Ulster in English). The earliest written sources about the history of Ulster date back to the 7th century.

The counties of Antrim, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry, Down and Armagh make up Northern Ireland. A diverse province with a population in excess of 1,800,000, Ulster closely follows Leinster as the most populous area in the island of Ireland. The principal business centre being the grand city of Belfast.

Abundant with mountains and lakelands, Ulster offers spectacular scenery including the extraordinary Giants Causeway in the north of the province, now designated a world heritage site. Inland waterways provide some of the best fishing in Ireland.

Back to Top

If you would like to include your business in our directory.
All photographs on this page insight email is an initiative of Just Perfect IT Limited  Disclaimer