Select another County currently available in Munster

The Towns

  Carrick -on Suir





County Tipperary, the largest inland county, covers and area of 1,647 square miles of some the most fertile and picturesque countryside in Ireland. Scattered with an abundance of important archaeological sites, this historical county is famed for its rich heritage and culture. Fondly famed for its songs and stories, County Tipperary is full of charm and a warmth visitors will not forget.

In 1838, the county was divided by Government into two administrative areas - the North Riding and South Riding which are still managed as separate entities. Combined, the population of County Tipperary stands in excess of 130,000. The county name is derived from the Irish 'Tiobraid Arann', the well of Era, referring to the River Ara.

The centre of County Tipperary is known as 'the Golden Vale', a rich pastoral stretch of land in the basin of the River Suir, which crosses the county from north to south. Tipperary is bound by mountains to the south and west with a border on Lough Derg in the north thus offering a superb range of outdoor activities for visitors and locals alike. The primary historical site is that of the Rock of Cashel, an imposing Cathedral and round tower encompassing some 2000 years of history, was once an important ecclesiastical centre and home to the Kings of Munster.

County Tipperary has a strong sporting history and is home to the Gaelic Games of Hurling, Gaelic Football, Camogie and Handball.

Principle towns in County Tipperary
The capital town of North Riding is Nenagh and the South Riding capital is Clonmel.
Other significant townships are Tipperary, Cahir, Carrick-on-Suir, Cashel, Roscrea, Templemore and Thurles.

Business Information

Grain and dairy farming have traditionally been the principle industries of South Tipperary. This has now expanded into food and drinks manufacturing including cider, dairy products and ice cream. Healthcare products, electronic and pharmaceuticals also contribute to the county's economy.

Tourism plays a significant role in County Tipperary - Lough Derg, Thurles, Rock of Cashel and Bru Boru Heritage Centre and Tipperary Crystal are some of the primary tourist destinations in the county. The two ridings are supported by their respective County Enterprise Boards with funding, training and business development programs. Shannon Development embraces tourism and industrial development in the Lough Derg and North Tipperary region. Smaller indigenous businesses are supported by the Leader groups and TEAGASC.

Some information sources worthy of note are
Enterprise Ireland - South Riding  tel: (353) (0)51 378446
Shannon Development tel: (353) (0)61 361555
South Riding County Enterprise Board tel: (353) (0)52 29466
North Riding County Enterprise Board tel: (353) (0)67 33086
Tipperary Leader Group tel: (353) (0)62 33787
BNS Leader Group tel: (353) (0)56 52111
Sources of finance applicable to business start up, development and acquisition, and related agencies, are as follows
Credit Unions tel: (353) 01 490 8911
National Irish Bank tel: (353) 01 678 5066
Ulster Bank (Small Business Unit) tel: (353) 01 677 7623
Bank of Ireland Enterprise Support Unit contact any branch
Smurfit Job Creation Enterprise Fund tel: (353) 01 478 4091

The Dept. of Enterprise, Trade and Employment:
TEL: (353) (0)1 6614444; has extensive and very helpful advice on all aspects of business and employment in Ireland, including a business start up information pack which is superbly put together and includes everything from planning, funding, locating, employing people and development businesses.

Travel (see also town guides)

County Tipperary is easily accessible from anywhere in Ireland. Main trunk roads pass through the county from Dublin to the south and west of Ireland. The main railway stations are Limerick Junction near the town of Tipperary and Thurles.
Bus Eireann operates a regular service across the county. The nearest domestic and European airports are Waterford and Cork, Shannon Airport is the closest international airport. Rosslare in County Wexford serves as the nearest seaport to County Tipperary.

Cork Airport - Aer Rianta
tel: (353) (0)21 313131
Waterford Airport
tel: (353) (0)51 875589
Shannon Airport - Aer Rianta
tel: (353) (0)61 471444
Bus Eireann
tel: (353) (0)51 879000
Ferry Services
Brittany Ferries
tel: (353) (0)21 277801
Irish Ferries
tel: (353) (0)1 5551995
P&O European Ferries
tel: (44) (0)870 2424777
Stena Line
tel: (353) (0)1 2047700
Swansea Cork Ferry
tel: (353) (0)21 271166
Irish Rail (Iarnrod Eireann)
Thurles Railway Station tel: (353) (0)504 21733
Limerick Junction Station-
near Tipperary town
tel: (353) (0)62 51406
Tourism, Leisure and Accommodation
Please see town guides
Search for businesses in this region      

Back to Top

If you would like to include your business in our directory. is an initiative of Just Perfect IT  Disclaimer