Connaught | Co Galway
Select another town currently available within Co. Galway






The wild region of Connemara is nestled on the western seaboard in County Galway. This stunning landscape includes the mountainous Connemara National Park, the mysterious boglands and a dramatic and rugged coastline.

The name Connemara comes from the ancient name Conmaicnemara ( the tribe of Conmac by the sea), and was later shortened to Connemara in the 18th century. Traditionally this land was called Iar (west) Connaught. South Connemara is home to the Gaeltacht where the Irish language is spoken in the community and is to found on shop fronts and sign posts.

Well known for its extensive lakes and Connemara ponies, this area is very popular tourist destination for those with a love of a remote and unspoiled land. Lough Corrib is the largest natural inland water mass in Ireland is a favorite with fishermen for salmon and brown trout and home to several excellent angling centres. Scubadiving and sailing are available along the coastline, with excellent water sports centres.

Connemara National Park is a 2000hectare state owned conservation centre with mountains, bogs, grasslands and spectacular wildlife. Traces of ancient settlements can be seen including 4,000 year old megalithic tombs. Connemara ponies roam freely throughout the park.

Golf is well serviced in Connemara with superb 9hole par 3 courses to full 18 hole courses including the unique Connemara Isles with its ocean inlets and rocky outcrops providing the ultimate challenge for the keen golfer. Walking, horse riding and cycling are all popular pursuits for visitors to Connemara, both wonderful ways to explore this marvelous terrain. Mountaineering is also popular with rockclimbing enthusiasts.

Other well known landmarks include the majestic Kylemore Abbey, Connemara Marble and Inishboffin Island off the west coast off County Galway.

The land is poor in Connemara, most industry tends to be tourist related or fishing along the coastline. Peat from the bogs is used as a main source of fuel for the local communities.

The principle towns and centres in Connemara are:

Clifden - the capital town , Lennane, Cleggan, Kylemore, Oughterard, Letterfrack, Roundstone and Cong on the County Mayo border.

Useful telephone numbers for Connemara
Western Regional Fisheries Board tel: (353) (0)91 563118
Connemara National Park tel: (353) (0)95 41054
The Gaeltacht Authority tel: (353) (0)91 503100
Connemara Tourism tel: (353) (0)95 41198
Clifden Tourism tel: (353) (0)95 21163
Search for businesses in this region      

Back to Top

If you would like to include your business in our directory.
All photographs on this page insight email is an initiative of Just Perfect IT  Disclaimer